Rogers 5G expands to 10 new communities in Eastern Ontario

Rogers 5G expands to 10 new communities in Eastern Ontario
Share this article


TORONTO – Rogers Communications, (TSX: RCI.A and RCI.B) together with the Eastern Ontario Regional Network (EORN), announced today it has extended its 5G network to reach more residents and businesses across 10 new communities throughout Eastern Ontario. Rogers 5G is now available in the following areas:

  • Elizabethtown-Kitley
  • Petawawa
  • Greater Napanee
  • Russell
  • Hawkesbury
  • Selwyn
  • Mississippi Mills
  • South Glengarry
  • Pembroke
  • South Stormont

“Rogers’ network expansion will give local residents access to better cell services that will help support economic growth and improve quality of life,” said J. Murray Jones, Chair, EORN. “We appreciate the support of our federal, provincial and municipal partners in helping us close the gap in mobile services.”

Today’s announcement is part of a $300 million partnership between the Government of Canada, the Province of Ontario, EORN and Rogers to bridge the digital divide and bring reliable wireless connectivity across Eastern Ontario. Earlier this year, Rogers lit up 5G in eight communities as part of this partnership. When the project is complete, Rogers will deliver mobile connectivity to 113 municipalities and Indigenous communities, building more than 300 new cellular towers and upgrading over 300 pre-existing sites through the partnership.

“We are proud to be part of this partnership to improve connectivity in Eastern Ontario. With today’s announcement, residents and businesses in ten more communities can now connect to our award-winning 5G network, so they can access the latest technology and help drive growth and prosperity in the region,” said Ted Woodhead, President, Eastern Ontario, Rogers Communications. “Delivering world-class digital infrastructure is an important priority for Rogers and we will continue to invest in our networks across the country.”

“Our Government is proud to partner with the Government of Ontario to connect ten additional communities in Eastern Ontario to a strong and reliable 5G network,” said Francis Drouin, Member of Parliament for Glengarry-Prescott-Russell and the Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food, on behalf of the Honourable Dominic LeBlanc, Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs, Infrastructure and Communities. “These communities will now have access to an improved cellular connection, allowing residents and businesses to access important essential services wherever they are.”

“The Ontario government is working together with service providers, the federal government and municipalities to expand access to reliable wireless services that families and businesses in Eastern Ontario need and deserve,” said Kinga Surma, Ontario’s Minister of Infrastructure. “By building and upgrading necessary digital infrastructure, we’re stimulating regional economic growth, creating jobs, and ensuring families and businesses have access to the necessary resources they need to thrive. This improved connectivity will help build stronger, more prosperous communities today, and for generations to come.”

Rogers shares are publicly traded on the Toronto Stock Exchange (TSX: RCI.A and RCI.B) and on the New York Stock Exchange (NYSE: RCI).


Related posts

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.